October 2020 Chapter Chat


The intent of this column is to communicate chapter news. Announcements may include items of interest, such as member news, section activities, events, training calendar, special programs, etc. Refer to the editorial submission deadlines, particularly with date sensitive announcements. Submit chapter news on the Chapter Chat Submission Form by the 25th of every month. Please attach to the email high-resolution digital .jpg or .tif photos to: Jennifer Naragon at: jnaragon@fbinaa.org.



With great sadness, we inform you of the passing of Commander  Jody Makuch, NA Session 245.  Jody passed away after a fatal motorcycle accident near his home in Arizona. Jody was an active Arizona Chapter member, community contributor, and member of the FBINAA Training Committee. Please remember the Makuch Family, the Cottonwood Police Department, and the Arizona Chapter in your prayers. He is dearly missed.

Asia Pacific


Thapa Kshetri, NA Session 241, Inspector General of Police Shailesh assumed the helm of Nepal Police on July 7, 2020. As the Chief of Police, he also assumes the role of current ex-officio Head of INTERPOL National Central Bureau, Kathmandu.
Mr. Kshetri, who joined Nepal Police in 1992, possesses diverse policing experience. He holds Bachelor's Degree in Humanities and Sociology and a Master's Degree in Political Science. He has successfully completed several meritorious professional training courses in Nepal and overseas such as Crime Investigation Training, Overseas Enforcement Training Program, VIP Security Course, Leadership and Management Training Program, Human Rights in Law Enforcement Training Course, Youth Violence Victims and Perpetrators Course and Criminal Justice Education to name a few. Additionally, he is one of the select Police Officers in the police organization who successfully graduated from the Federal Bureau of Investigations National Academy (FBINA 241st Session) in Quantico, Virginia, USA.

Kansas - Western Missouri

Chapter News

The 2020-21 Executive Board was sworn in at the Fall Chapter Banquet by National Executive Board Third Vice-President Scott Rhoad, NA Session 217.
The Board members from left to right:

  • Kelli Bailiff, NA Session 200, Second Vice President
  • Frank Papish, NA Session 237, President-Elect
  • Erik Holland, NA Session 260, First Vice President
  • Kevin Freeman, NA Session 253, President
  • Shane Hoobler, NA Session 232, Immediate Past President (not shown)

Congrats to Kelli and we thank all our Board members who are dedicated to our Chapter! We will be hosting the 2024 National Conference in Kansas City, MO and plans are already underway! Our Chapter is proud to host on the 20th anniversary since our last successful conference in 2004!

Congrats to Will Akin, NA Session 264, (Missouri) and Steve Cox, NA Session 143, (Kansas) who were named the 2020 recipients of the Clarence M. Kelley Award for Meritorious Service. This prestigious award is given away to a member from Kansas and Missouri each year for their contributions to law enforcement. Congratulations to these members on their selection!


Steve Owen, NA Session 276, was promoted to Major with the Kansas City, KS Police Department on September 17, 2020. Congrats on your promotion, Steve!


Chapter News

The 2021 Summer Conference dates have been set! The Conference will be held August 8-12, 2021 in Gulfport, MS.


Randy Ginn, NA Session 234, was promoted to the rank of Colonel and named the new leader of the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol. Randy previously served as the Deputy Director and Chief of the Uniform Division of MHP.

Keith Davis, NA Session 244, has been appointed as the Deputy Commissioner of Operations with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. Keith most recently served as the Chief of Staff for Michael Watson, the Mississippi Secretary of State. Prior to that, Keith was Chief of Enforcement for the Department of Marine Resources.

Richard Chandler, NA Session 264, has been appointed as the new Chief of Police in Senatobia MS. Richard previously served as a Captain at the Southaven Police Department.

Craig Petersen, NA Session 245, was appointed to the rank of Deputy Chief of the Gulfport Police Department. Craig previously served as the Commander of the Professional Standards Bureau.

Josh Bromen, NA Session 275, was appointed to the rank of Commander of the Professional Standards Bureau of the Gulfport Police Department. Josh previously served as a Lieutenant in the Support Bureau.

Chris Robertson, NA Session 221, was promoted to the rank of Sergeant with the Southaven Police Department.


Matt Barnett, NA Session 235, retired as the Chief of Police at the Wiggins Mississippi Police Department on August 31, 2020. Matt Served as the Chief of the Wiggins Police Department for 10 years. Matt is an active member of the Mississippi Chapter and a graduate of the 235th Session. We wish him the best on his future endeavors.


Chapter News

Thank you to everyone who participated in the recent Northwest Chapter conference held in Rapid City, SD. Great training and networking opportunities were had by all!

Members joined in-person and virtually, including newer graduates such as Josh Phillips, NA Session 277, and more senior members including Richard Kotasek, NA Session 92, who is tied for the chapter’s second most senior member! Winning unofficial recognition for having traveled furthest is Dave Rash, NA Session 246, of the Oregon Chapter.

Pistol Shoot
While the weather was cool, everyone enjoyed our annual pistol shoot on September 11th, hosted by the Minneapolis Division of the FBI. Thanks to wonderful support from Panasonic, the shoot was followed by a catered barbecue lunch! The open law enforcement division was won by Nick Dahlberg of the Ramsey, MN Police Department and the FBINAA member division was won by Darin Hill, NA Session 245, of the Hopkins, MN Police Department. Congratulations to our winners! Secretary/treasurer Dave Kvam, NA Session 231, was the lucky winner of a pistol provided by CZ-USA.

A special thank you is owed our sponsors, including Panasonic, Sanford Health, Verizon, CZ-USA, Extra Duty Solutions, First Tactical, and Off Duty Management, for without their support the conference would not have been possible.


Deputy Police Chief Erika Scheider, NA Session 262, was promoted to chief of the Roseville, MN Police Department September 1st, with the retirement of Chief Mathwig the day prior. Erika joined the Roseville Police Department in 1997 as a patrol officer. Since that time, she has served as a detective, sergeant, lieutenant over several divisions, and deputy chief. Erika holds a master’s degree from the University of St. Thomas, is an adjunct faculty member at the same institution, and also instructs for the MN Chiefs of Police Association Leadership Academy.

When announcing Erika’s promotion to Chief, City Manager Trudgeon said of her, “Erika’s years of experience and relationships within the Roseville community provides a valuable asset, and her commitment to community-based law enforcement will serve the community well as the role of law enforcement evolves.” Congratulations Erika!


Chief Rick Mathwig, NA Session 227, retired after 31 years with the Roseville, MN Police Department on August 31st. During the course of his career Rick served as a patrol officer, investigator, sergeant, lieutenant, captain, and was named chief in 2010. Of Chief Mathwig’s tenure as police chief, City Manager Patrick Trudgeon said in part, “During his tenure, Chief Mathwig has made the Roseville Police Department a leader in Minnesota for police department transparency and accountability,” and “Chief Mathwig’s service to Roseville for 31 years is greatly appreciated and the community will greatly miss his expertise and approach.” Well done, Rick, and congratulations!