September 2020 Chapter Chat


The intent of this column is to communicate chapter news. Announcements may include items of interest, such as member news, section activities, events, training calendar, special programs, etc. Refer to the editorial submission deadlines, particularly with date sensitive announcements. Submit chapter news on the Chapter Chat Submission Form by the 25th of every month. Please attach to the email high-resolution digital .jpg or .tif photos to: Jennifer Naragon at:


Chapter News

The California State Retrainer, to be held in Monterey, was cancelled due to COVID-19.


Congratulations to Tyson Pogue, NA Session 276, who was sworn in as the 16th Madera County Sheriff in June 2020.

Congratulations to Gary Berg, NA Session 265, who was sworn in as Chief of Campbell PD.

From our Los Angeles Division, we say congratulations to Lawrence Gonzales, NA Session 233, sworn in as Chief of Riverside PD and Eddie Pust, NA Session 276, who was sworn in as Chief of Hemet PD.

A huge shout out to Chuck King, NA Session 252, who was sworn in as the Chief of the California Highway Patrol. Congratulations Chuck!


Congratulations to Dan Winter, NA Session 250, who retired in June from the Santa Clara PD and is now entering a new chapter in the private sector.

Congratulations to Sheriff Jay Varney, NA Session 253, who retired from Madera County Sheriff’s Department, only to start as the Madera County’s Chief Administrative Officer. We wish you all the best.


Sadly, we announce the passing of retired Assistant Chief of San Jose PD, Thomas K. Shigemasa, NA Session 135, who passed away in June.



Jeff Pearson, NA Session 224 and 2016 Florida FBINAA President, was sworn in as the FPCA President for 2020-2021.
Congratulations Jeff!!

Congratulations to Newly Elected Clay County Sheriff Michelle Cook, wife of our own 3rd VP Don Tuten, NA Session 264, who was sworn into office. Read the Article Here

Kansas - Western Missouri

Chapter News

Will Akin, NA Session 264, completed the requirements for a PhD and has received his diploma. We can call him ‘Dr. Akin’ along with Captain of the Clay County, Missouri Sheriff’s Office.


Tyrone Garner, NA Session 234, did not stay retired long and has been named the Director of Public Safety for the Housing Authority in Kansas City, MO.

Congrats to Sam Larson, NA Session 277, who was named the new Chief of Police in Shawnee, Kansas effective January 24, 2020. Chief Larson replaced Rob Moser, NA Session 230, after he retired earlier this year.

Shawn Reynolds, NA Session 244, has been selected as the new Chief of Police in Temple, Texas. He began his new position June 1, 2020 and we wish him the best!

Bob Kuehl, NA Session 212, recently began his next career phase and became the Chief of Police in Raytown, MO. Congrats!


Major Greg Higdon, NA Session 256, retired on June 5, 2020 after 25-years with the Springfield, MO Police Department. He worked his way up through the ranks of this large agency and attended the Northwestern’s School of Police Staff and Command, PERF-Senior Management in Police, and the IACP-Leadership in Police Organizations over the years. Major Higdon accepted the position as the Director of Campus and Public Safety for the Jordan Valley Community Health Center on June 15, 2020. We wish him the best in his new role!

Assistant Director Frank Papish, NA Session 237, retired from the Kansas Bureau of Investigation with over 20 years of service on June 30, 2020. He also spent seven years with the Crawford County Sheriff’s Office prior to the KBI. Frank currently serves on the Kansas-Western Mo Chapter Executive Board (2018-present), Youth Leadership Program Selection Committee (2012-present), and the National Alliance of State Drug Enforcement Agencies (NASDEA) as the Immediate Past President/Scholarship Chair (2018-19), President (2016-17), Vice-President (2014-15) and member since 2012. He is transitioning into the private sector and has enjoyed his experience with the FBINAA with the relationships he has built as the most rewarding. We thank Frank for his continued commitment to our Chapter and good luck in the private world!

Major Doug Dunn, NA Session 229, retired on July 6, 2020 after nearly 38 years of law enforcement service to his community with the Overland Park, MO Police Department. He has worked many different units including Traffic Safety, Motor Officer, SWAT member, Evidence Technician, Firearms Range Master, and School Resource Unit. Over the years, Doug served as Commander of the Kansas Law Enforcement Task Force that was deployed to Hurricane Katrina (2005) and the OPPD Honor Guard with his department. Doug is truly retiring to get some things done around the house and travel. We wish him many relaxing days ahead!

Maryland Delaware


Delaware State Police proudly announces its new Superintendent, Colonel Melissa A. Zebley, NA Session 235, appointed by Governor John Carney, today, July 9, 2020. Lieutenant Colonel Zebley is a 28-year member of the Division and was appointed as a trooper in July of 1992. Upon completion of her academy training, she was assigned to Troop 6, Prices Corner. In September 1997 she was transferred to the academy as a Drill Instructor. She served that function until December 2001. In April 2002 Zebley was promoted to the rank of Sergeant and was assigned to Troop 1, Penny Hill. She served as a patrol supervisor until October 2005 when she was transferred to the Public Information Office and later assumed the role of Director. In February 2007 she was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant and assigned to Headquarters as the Fiscal Officer for the Division. In April 2009 she was transferred to Troop 2 near Glasgow where she was in charge of patrol operations for the troop. In August 2009 Zebley was promoted to Captain and was transferred to Troop 1 as the Commander. In September 2010, she was promoted to Major and served on the Executive Staff as the Administrative Officer and the New Castle County Operations Officer. In August 2019, Major Zebley was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, appointed by the Superintendent, Colonel Nathaniel McQueen Jr. She will take command of the Delaware State Police on Monday, July 13, 2020 serving as the agency’s 26th Superintendent. Continue Reading...

The Delaware State Police Superintendent, Colonel Melissa A. Zebley announces the promotion of Major Daniel K. Meadows, NA Session 266, to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel on July 20, 2020. Major Daniel Meadows has been in law enforcement in Delaware since 1994 and has been with the Delaware State Police since September 1997. Upon completion of his academy training, Major Meadows has held numerous positions within DSP. He was first a member of the Patrol Division and then assumed various roles within the Detective ranks. These assignments included the Governor’s Task Force, the United States Attorney’s Operation Disarm Firearms Task Force, and the Criminal Intelligence Unit. Major Meadows has held supervisory roles in Patrol, the Governor’s Task Force, and the Criminal Investigations Unit. He has also held Command positions at the State Bureau of Identification and the Criminal Intelligence Section prior to assuming his current assignment. Continue Reading...



The Nevada Chapter is pleased to announce Chief Michelle Freeman, NA Session 249, of the City of Las Vegas Department of Public Safety has announced her retirement for October 2020. Please join us in congratulating Michelle on an exceptional career of service and extending our best wishes for a long and happy retirement.



Andy Shearer, NA Session 268, has retired from the Portland Police Bureau.

South Carolina


We are sad to announce that Chief Matt Clancy, NA Session 220, has passed away.